Transcription of the Offical Podcast for Outlander Episode 106, “The Garrison Commander”

Whew!  This week was a tough one!  Mostly because there was no Terry-  Originally I had thought that not having Terry on the Podcast this week would make things a bit easier.  Sometimes Ron and Terry talk over each other, or cut each other off, so formatting that in a way that makes it clear to the reader what’s going on can be a bit of a struggle for me-  I want people reading to be able to understand that a person is trailing off and another is picking up or that they’re outright cutting each other off or talking over one another.  Not to mention the fact that they do talk over one another and that can make it difficult for me because I have to listen over and over and over before I can catch what they’re actually saying (sometimes I don’t know who to focus on!).  But this particular podcast was tough because since Terry wasn’t there, Ron talked… and talked fast!  He filled a lot more space with a lot more wordy ramblings.  So I feel like I now have carpal tunnel.  But it’s cool because there’s some juicy insights in here about how Ron feels about the character of Black Jack.  And my favorite line from the podcasts thus far-  which I won’t tell you because I wonder if you’ve got the same one!  What has your favorite part of the podcasts been??

7 thoughts on “Transcription of the Offical Podcast for Outlander Episode 106, “The Garrison Commander”

      • Andee, I think your concern about the transcription — well, your audience just wants to understand, to be able to read what was said and not be confused. If you edit-down repetitious verbiage to make things easier to understand, I think Ron and Terry both would applaud your effort. Just my two cents…and worth just about that. Lovely that you volunteered to do this.

        Like

      • I sent you a reply on twitter because I was losing my mind- but thanks for the feedback!!! Sometimes I struggle with what to edit out and what to leave. On 106 I was particularly “hands off” on the editing (I had done it a bit more aggressively in 104 & 105). Sometimes I think it helps you to pick up rhythms in speech and just give an overall feel for how they talk, but it’s good to know people wouldn’t mind if I cut out some of the extra verbiage. Was it really bad in 106, do you think??

        Like

  1. Thanks so much for doing this! I loved the first 2-3 podcasts, and then for some unknown reason my phone would go into seizures whenever I tried to download the next ones, so this is an absolute godsend! I’m looking forward to the rest!

    Like

  2. I truly appreciate your work. I have hearing problems and don’t catch everything on the podcast. With the program I can use closed captioning. Thank you for being my ears!

    Like

Leave a comment